UIS receives CU Innovation and Efficiency grand prize

The University of Colorado Innovation and Efficiency (CU I&E) Awards recognize CU employees whose ideas and innovations save the university time, money and resources. For the second year in a row, University Information Services received multiple awards, including the $1,500 grand prize.

A team led by Sridevi Bankupalli, associate director of enterprise development, was awarded the grand prize for their Critical Patch Updates for PeopleSoft Systems innovation, which successfully reduced the time required to deploy critical patch updates by several days.

“This is an extraordinary accomplishment considering the amount of testing involved, the impact on staff using PeopleSoft applications, and its furthering of our efforts to keep our systems secure in a timely manner,” said Scott Munson, associate vice president and chief information officer.

Bravo to the entire team: Sridevi Bankupalli, Mayank Mittal, Joseph Ciecior, Jackie Hess, Guy Chavez, Brad Baker, Sasi Sunkari, Srikanth Gurram and Carlos Mennechey.

In an example of cross-campus collaboration, UIS and CU Boulder created a custom process to consume XML transcripts sent from other institutions for transferring students, transforming what had been a largely manual data-entry task into a faster, more accurate automated process.

Kudos and a shared $1,000 prize to the Automated Processing of Electronic XML Transcripts team — Darlene Crow, Siva Jaligama, Joseph Ciecior, Brian Schaeffer, Phillip Jones and Kimberly Diawara — for this extraordinary effort.

A team led by Kelly Fleming from CU System Administration and Christa Bryan-Duffus of the CU Anschutz Medical Campus combined forces with Jordan Wight, Laura Abeyta-Martinez, Laura Haller, Christine Bauder and Gabriel Petty from UIS to automate the processing of POIs (persons of interest) in HCM, earning a $1,000 prize.

The Tableau Server Project, which migrated more than 77,000 Tableau users to an enterprise-wide server and provided increased processing capabilities while decreasing contract costs by almost $1 million over five years, was recognized as a finalist. The team members on this project are Lisa Damboise, Arsadur Rahman, Elizabeth Rose Snow-Trenkle, Viet Phan, Lonnie Maynard, Cindy Kraft and Mohammed Faraz Ali.

The CU I&E Awards program is open to all four campuses and system administration and awarded annually by the University Controller’s Office.

Add new comment