The situation surrounding the Coronavirus/COVID-19 public health concern is changing rapidly. Please seek specific guidance regarding Campus operations, leave and travel from your Campus websites.
Lost time is defined as authorized time lost from scheduled work for:
- authorized medical appointments
- time off authorized by the Designated Medical Provider (DMP)
- the department is unable to accommodate restrictions that are placed on the injured employee by the DMP
It is the employee’s responsibility to tell the supervisor if he or she is losing time by giving their supervisor the “Physicians Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury” to document lost time and any restrictions.
Medical appointments, diagnostics and therapy appointments should be scheduled around the employee’s working shift to minimize lost time from work.
Lost Time Worksheet Submission Process
The supervisor and the payroll liaison are responsible for reporting lost time to URM per the instructions listed below:
- Lost time worksheets must be completed in full (all dates and hours for workers’ compensation time and non-workers’ compensation time).
- Worksheets must be submitted every two weeks until the employee reaches maximum medical improvement or the handling adjuster advises otherwise.
- When an employee is not OJI eligible or has reached make whole, lost time worksheets must be submitted weekly. What is OJI eligible?
- To submit lost time, please click on the link below using Internet Explorer. You may also print the form below and fax lost time to URM at 303-860-5680.
Under Colorado Workers’ Compensation law, an employee must lose either 24 hours of scheduled work OR three scheduled shifts of authorized time before workers’ compensation lost time benefits begin.
This is defined as the “waiting period.” URM must have lost time worksheets submitted in order to track this information.
The waiting period is coded as sick/vacation leave. If an employee accumulates more than 14 occurrences of authorized lost time including the waiting period, then the sick/vacation time must be changed to OJI.
On the Job Injury (OJI) Eligible and Non-Eligible Employees
- full time permanent employees of the university
- EXCEPTION at CU Boulder Campus ONLY: employees hired at 1 percent or 10 percent time into a permanent position in the classified system
If an employee is On the Job Injury eligible (OJI) and the waiting period has been met, the employee will receive 100 percent of their pay from their department for 90 occurrences. An occurrence is counted based on time lost from work. If an employee loses one hour for a medical appointment on a working day, the day is counted as a full occurrence. If 90 occurrences are reached, your handling adjuster will be in contact with you regarding the make whole process.
- part-time employees (This may include 9 month faculty)
- student workers
- student interns
If an employee is NOT eligible and the waiting period has been met, URM will pay the employee directly based on the number of hours lost at 66 2/3 percent of their normal salary on a bi-weekly basis as defined under Colorado Workers’ Compensation law.