The title "Distinguished Professor" is the highest honor that the University of Colorado bestows on its own faculty members. This title is extended to recognize the outstanding contributions of tenured faculty members to their academic disciplines. Candidates nominated for a distinguished professorship must demonstrate accomplishments in accordance with university-wide criteria. As of fall 2023, 144 University of Colorado professors hold the title of distinguished professor.

List of CU Distinguished Professors


  1. Distinguished performance in scholarly/creative work;
  2. Excellence in the promotion of learning and student attainment of knowledge and skills; and
  3. Outstanding leadership and service to the profession and to CU and/or affiliate institutions.

Criteria and Procedures

Campus Nomination Process

  • For nomination submission and deadline information, please contact the school/college dean.