The Boettcher Foundation’s Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards program is a statewide competition with pre-allocated grant amounts to the University of Colorado, Colorado State University, National Jewish Medical and Research Center and a pool from which other eligible Colorado Institutions may apply.  At CU, the grant program is administered by the Office of the President. 

Boettcher Foundation Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Program - A Brief History:

  • The Webb-Waring Institute was founded in 1924 by Dr. Gerald Bertram Webb and later directed by Dr. James J. Waring. For over 80 years, the organization contributed to the advancement of biomedical research by engaging in basic and clinical research and training research scientists.
  • The work of the Institute was supported by a separate endowment funded by Ruth Porter Waring, Dr. Waring’s wife. This endowment led to the establishment of a separate but related entity known as the Webb-Waring Foundation.
  • In 2008, the Webb-Waring Institute became a part of the University of Colorado and is now known as the Webb-Waring Center. The Boettcher Foundation was entrusted with the stewardship of the Webb-Waring Foundation’s assets.

Visit the Boettcher Foundation online: