The Office of Academic Affairs administers the University of Colorado Thomas Jefferson Award, which is sponsored by an endowment provided by the McConnell Foundation and from a bequest by Harrison Blair, a University of Colorado alumnus. The award honors students, staff, and faculty members who advance the ideals of Thomas Jefferson. The award was first established at the University of Virginia in 1951 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation to honor teaching faculty who exemplified the humanistic ideals associated with the country’s third president. By 1962, six other institutions had established a Jefferson Award, including the University of Colorado. In 1980, the University added a student category, and in 1988, the staff category was approved.

Please thoroughly review the award information before submitting your nomination.

The deadline for AY 2023-24 nominations is December 1, 2023, by midnight.

Award Information

(e.g. 035 UCA)
(e.g. 035 UCA)

The nomination packet is limited to 30 pages (not including résumé or cv) and must include:

  • a cover letter that addresses the award criteria, especially the service performed outside of the normal course of the nominee’s duties;
  • at least three, but no more than five, supporting letters from multiple constituencies – e.g., colleagues; departmental, school/college, and campus leaders; and community leaders;
  • the nominee’s current curriculum vitae or résumé.
Files must be less than 20 MB.
Allowed file types: pdf.

Questions or problems with this form? Contact us at