October 24, 2018

CU Regents select Presidential Search Committee

The University of Colorado Board of Regents today named the Presidential Search Advisory Committee that will assist in the process of selecting the institution’s next president. The search committee is chaired by Regents Heidi Ganahl and Irene Griego. The membership of the committee is outlined in Regent Policy 3 (E). Members are:

  • Faculty representatives: Tom Cech (CU Boulder); Christopher Bell (CU Colorado Springs); Joanne Addison (CU Denver); Laura Borgelt (CU Anschutz Medical Campus)
  • Dean representative: Bobby Braun (CU Boulder)
  • Staff representative: Corey Edwards (CU Denver)
  • Student representative: Alex Holmgren (CU Boulder)
  • Alumni representatives: Brian Davidson, Frank McNulty
  • Community representatives: Pam Shockley-Zalabak, Cy Harvey, Jake Zambrano, Ben Ochoa

The committee will assist the CU Board of Regents, which is responsible for naming the next president.

“We’re pleased to have an engaged, diverse committee that represents CU’s key constituents, both inside and outside the university,” said Sue Sharkey, chair of the board. “Selecting the next CU president is a critically important task and we feel we have the right people involved.”

The search advisory committee will get its charge from the Board of Regents at its Nov. 8 meeting in Colorado Springs. The search will officially commence when the board receives the charge.

The next president will replace Bruce Benson, who announced that he plans to retire from CU in July after 11 years at the helm. He is the longest-serving CU president in 65 years.

About the CU System

The University of Colorado is a premier public research university with four campuses: the University of Colorado Boulder, the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, the University of Colorado Denver and the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. With more than 66,000 students (and another 7,000 taking courses for credit) and over 7,200 full-time instructional faculty members, CU is the largest institution of higher education in the state of Colorado. With an annual budget of $4.5 billion, CU generates a remarkable economic impact of $12.35 billion annually for the state. CU researchers attracted more than $1.05 billion in sponsored research funding in fiscal year 2017-18. The university’s Technology Transfer Office has helped launch 190 startups since 1994. Academic prestige is marked by CU’s five Nobel laureates, 10 MacArthur “genius” Fellows, 20 astronauts and 19 Rhodes Scholars. For more information about the CU system, and to access campus resources, go to www.cu.edu.

For more information contact: Ken McConnellogue 303.815.8481 ken.mcconnellogue@cu.edu