About the Award

The Elizabeth D. Gee Memorial Lectureship Award recognizes and honors an outstanding faculty member of the University of Colorado for efforts to advance women in academia, interdisciplinary scholarly contributions and distinguished teaching. Instituted in 1992, the award is named for Elizabeth Gee, a faculty member in the School of Nursing at CU Anschutz Medical Campus and the late wife of former CU president, Gordon Gee. The Gee award is the only award in the CU system that specifically recognizes outstanding work on women's issues and a concerted effort to advance women in the academy. It carries with it a $1,000 cash prize, and the recipient is invited to present their scholarly work at the Gee Memmorial Lecture during the CU Women Succeeding Professional Development Symposium.


Any full-time faculty member from any of the CU campuses may be nominated. Previous nominees are encouraged to re-apply. Preference will be given to nominees who have been with CU for at least five years.


The criteria for selecting recipients of the award are as follows:

  • Record of advancing women in the academic community (please note that nominee should show evidence of advancing women beyond his/her own department);
  • Significant and original scholarship and/or creative work;
  • Record of research, teaching, and/or service that pushes the boundaries of disciplinary knowledge and make connections between disciplines; and,
  • Distinguished record in teaching excellence.


To nominate a candidate, please submit the following:

  • a nomination statement in letter form (please individually address each of the four criteria listed above in the letter);
  • a 2-3 page abbreviated current curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  • a 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee (please individually address each of the four criteria listed above in the statement; and,
  • a minimum of 3 letters of support from the University community and 1 letter from the extended academic community. One letter from a student or advisee is optional. More letters are allowed as long as the 15 page overall limit is not exceeded.


Past Award Recipients


Year Recipient Name
1993 Barbara Engel, CU Boulder, History
1994 Nancy Zahniser, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Pharmacology
1995 Margaret Ferguson, CU Boulder, English
1996 No Award Given
1997 Loran Moore, CU Denver, Anthropology
1998 Susan Avery, CU Boulder, Electrical Engineering
Dorothea Olkowski, ​UCCS,  Philosophy
1999 No Award Given
2000 Lyn Taylor, CU Denver, Education
Susan Clarke, CU Boulder, Political Science
2001 Margaret Ann Eisenhart, CU Boulder, Education
2002 Melinda Piket-May, CU Boulder, Computer & Electrical Engineering
2003 Judith Regensteiner, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, General Internal Medicine
2004 Marianne Wesson, CU Boulder, School of Law
2005 Kristi Anseth, CU Boulder, Chemical & Biological Engineering
2006 Abby Ferber, UCCS, Sociology and Women's Studies
Patricia Rankin, CU Boulder, Physics
2007 Peggy Neville, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Medicine Physiology & Biophysics, Obstetrics & Gynecology
2008 Mary Coussons-Read, CU Denver, Psychology
Andrea Herrera, UCCS, Women's & Ethnic Studies
2009 Joanne Belknap, CU Boulder, Sociology
2010 Laura Borgelt, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Pharmacy & Medicine
2011 Alison M. Jaggar, CU Boulder, Philosophy
2012 Brenda Allen, CU Denver, Diversity & Inclusion
2013 Eva Aagaard, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Medicine
2014 Carol M. Rumack, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Medicine
2015 Terra McKinnish, CU Boulder, Economics
2016 Dana Dabelea, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Epidemiology
2017 Jan Whitt, CU Boulder, Journalism
2018 Anne M. Libby, CU Anschutz Medical Campus, Emergency Medicine