Elizabeth D. Gee Memorial Lectureship Award

The Elizabeth D. Gee Memorial Lectureship Award recognizes and honors an outstanding faculty member of the University of Colorado for efforts to advance women in academia, interdisciplinary scholarly contributions and distinguished teaching. Instituted in 1992, the award is named for Elizabeth Gee, a faculty member in the Health Sciences Center School of Nursing and the late wife of former CU President, Gordon Gee.

The Gee award is the only award in the CU system that specifically recognizes outstanding work on women's issues and a concerted effort to advance women in the academy. It carries with it a $1000 prize, and the recipient will present his/her scholarly work at the CU Women Succeeding Annual Professional Development Symposium on February 28, 2014.


Any full-time faculty member from any of the CU campuses may be nominated. See below for more details on the nomination process. Previous nominees are encouraged to re-apply. Preference will be given to nominees who have been with the University of Colorado at least five years.


The criteria for selecting recipients of the award are as follows:

  • Record of advancing women in the academic community (please note that nominee should show evidence of advancing women beyond his/her own department);
  • Significant and original scholarship and/or creative work;
  • Record of research, teaching, and/or service that pushes the boundaries of disciplinary knowledge and make connections between disciplines;
  • Distinguished record in teaching excellence.

To nominate a candidate, please submit the following:

  • a nomination statement in letter form (please individually address each of the four criteria listed above in the letter),
  • a 2-3 page abbreviated current curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • a 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee (please individually address each of the four criteria listed above in the statement, and
  • a minimum of 3 letters of support from the University community and 1 letter from the extended academic community. One letter from a student or advisee is optional. More letters are allowed as long as the 20 page overall limit is not exceeded

Please submit the nominating packet as a single PDF file to facultycouncil@cu.edu. If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact Melinda Piket-May at Melinda.Piket-May@cu.edu . Preference will be given to nominees who have been with the University of Colorado at least five years.

Previous Winners

Year Award Recipient

Barbara Engel, CU Boulder History


Nancy Zahniser, CU Anschutz Medical Campus Pharmacology


Margaret Ferguson, CU Boulder English

1996 No award given

Lorna Moore, CU Denver Anthropology


Susan Avery, CU Boulder Electrical Engineering

Director of CIRES Dorothea Olkowski, CU Colorado Springs Philosophy

1999 No award given

Lyn Taylor, CU Denver Education

Susan Clarke, CU Boulder Political Science


Margaret Ann Eisenhart, CU Boulder Education


Melinda Piket-May, CU Boulder Computer & Electrical Engineering


Judith Regensteiner, CU Anschutz Medical Campus General Internal Medicine


Marianne Wesson, CU Boulder School of Law


Kristi Anseth, CU Boulder Chemical & Biological Engineering


Abby Ferber,CU Colorado Springs Sociology Women's Studies

Patricia Rankin, CU Boulder Physics


Dr. Peggy Neville, CU Denver & Anchutz Medical Campus School of Medicine Physiology & Biophysics, Obstetrics & Gynecology


Mary Coussons-Read, UCD PsychologyAndrea Herrera, UCCS Women's & Ethnic Studies


Joanne Belknap, CU Boulder Sociology


Laura Borgelt, CU Anschutz Medical Campus Schools of Pharmacy & Medicine


Alison M. Jaggar, CU Boulder Philosophy


Brenda Allen, Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, CU Denver


Eva Aagaard, MD, CU Anschutz Medical Campus