A new UIS product debuts in fall 2021

UIS is working to create a Tableau Enterprise Server as an enterprise visualization tool. This project will allow the university to deliver a fixed, discounted cost for Tableau desktop that could be procured through CU Marketplace. Tableau is not replacing any other reporting tools. Current users of Cognos will not be impacted, and Cognos will remain a UIS-supported tool.

  Read our UIS news story to learn more about how Tableau contract will save CU money.

What is Tableau and what is changing?

Example of a Tableau DashboardTableau is a business intelligence tool that helps people see and understand data.  With interactive data visualizations that can handle large amounts of data and robust analytics, Tableau helps organizations be more data-driven in their decisions.

After an enterprise-level contract was negotiated that will save CU thousands of dollars over time, UIS needed to migrate previous users of Tableau to an enterprise server. Originally, CU Denver and CU Boulder had campus-based licenses, which were only available to their users. Now, with UIS as the Tableau product owner across migrated campuses, ongoing management and regular upgrades will improve efficiency, in addition to the cost-savings of an enterprise contract.

This change enables UIS to provide a platform for CU customers for direct data sharing use. The Tableau Server will be available on the UIS website, Cherwell and all applicable systems with additional authentication through Ping.  

Tableau Server

A Tableau Server hosts and holds all shared Tableau workbooks, data sources and related data, keeping files secure and protected. The server enables users to publish and share data.  This service would be provided to all approved university faculty and staff.

Tableau Desktop

Tableau desktop allows you to author reports and dashboards, which must be procured locally by your campus and installed locally on your machine. 

Project Timeline

Campus Change Agents

Each campus has designated change agents to facilitate the transition and speak on the behalf of their campus/department users to the project team. These liaisons ensure all users have up-to-date information and provide necessary feedback to the team. If you have questions or concerns as a user about the upgrade, reach out to one of your campus change agents.

Campus/System Department Name Email
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Budget David Doig david.doig@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Budget Erik Welker erik.welker@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus CLAS Rick Allen richard.allen@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Finance Nara Shagdar nara.shagdar@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Human Resources Paul Joyce paul.joyce@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus OIRE Dave Deffenbacher dave.deffenbacher@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus OIRE Ian Whitman ian.whitman@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus OIRPA Irma Peralta Irma.Peralta@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus OIT Sharon Grant sharon.grant@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus SEHD Tony Romero tony.romero@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus SOM IT Dalan Jensen dalan.jensen@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus SOM IT Micheal Miller michael.g.miller@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus LETTS Brad Hinson brad.hinson@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus LETTS Troy Butler troy.butler@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Success/Provost Erika Larson erika.larson@ucdenver.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus SOM IT Wendy Christensen wendy.christensen@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus SOM IT Traci Yamashita traci.yamashita@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Health Compass Michelle Edelmann michelle.edelmann@cuanschutz.edu
CU Denver / Anschutz Medical Campus Health Compass James Patton james.patton@cuanschutz.edu
CU Boulder ODA Mari Dark mari.dark@colorado.edu
CU Boulder CEAS Kayla Brooks Kayla.Brooks@colorado.edu
CU System Administration PSC Kelly Richter kelly.richter@cu.edu
CU System Administration UIS Caron Lee Caron.Lee@cu.edu
CU System Administration UIS RyAnne Scott ryanne.scott@cu.edu

  FAQS

Will the UIS implementation be HIPAA compliant?

Yes, the Tableau server will be HIPAA and FERPA compliant.

Will this change provide a public space that anyone can access?

Yes, a public space will be provided, and more details will be provided in early 2022.

Will there be a charge to use the Tableau server?

It will be an enterprise charge, so there will be no charge to individual departments for Tableau Server. See next question for clarification of cost for purchasing Tableau desktop.

How will licensing be handled? How do I purchase a new desktop license (or renew a license)?

For Tableau desktop, CU has negotiated a special rate of $630 per desktop license (per year).  If you are purchasing 25 or more licenses, there is a further discounted cost of $567 per license (per year). 

UIS will manage licensing for the CU Public and Private Tableau servers.

Will it be integrated to Campus authentication?

The system-wide Tableau server will have similar login methods as portal and other enterprise application where you will authenticate against your campus directory.

I’m not a current Tableau user. When can I start using the CU Enterprise Server?

Please see the questions above regarding the process to purchase a desktop license.  Once purchased and installed, you can start building out your reports and dashboard while you wait to be migrated.

The CU Tableau Enterprise project will prioritize migration for existing users first (those who already have a license at the outset of the project).  Any new Tableau users will be migrated as soon as possible once the migration and project are complete (fall 2021 at the earliest). 

How will users and groups be managed in Tableau Enterprise?

Site Administrator Explorers (i.e. site owners) will manage the users and groups within Tableau and this reference document contains information that may be helpful as they perform their duties as site owners.  Click here to view the Tableau Desktop Purchase-Renewal diagram.