Chase Faculty Community Service Award

The Office of Academic Affairs administers the annual Faculty Community Service Award, which is sponsored by an endowment from the Chase Corporation through the CU Foundation.

The endowment awards $10,000 annually to a full-time University of Colorado faculty member who, in addition to his or her university responsibilities, has, pro bono, provided exceptional educational, humanitarian, civic or other service in the community.

Submit Chase Award Nomination

Nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 4, 2016. Nominations will be accepted beginning January 21.


Any member of the university community may submit a nomination. The nomination packet must include:

  • a letter of nomination that speaks specifically to the award criteria as stated above;
  • two supporting letters from members of the university community who have direct knowledge of the nature and benefit of the community service;
  • two supporting letters from individuals outside the university who have direct knowledge of the nature and benefit of the community service; and
  • a copy of the faculty nominee’s current curriculum vitae.

Additional supporting information relevant to the criteria may be included.

Nomination Submission

Submit a nomination via the online submission form.

Selection Process

A systemwide advisory committee will review the nominations and submit its recommendation to President Bruce D. Benson.

Past Recipients

For a complete list of past award recipients, please visit here. Please note, previous winners are not eligible to apply.

Please contact Academic Affairs with questions regarding the Chase Faculty Community Service Award.