The University of Colorado System has more than 9,000 faculty members across four campuses, each making significant contributions to the teaching, research and outreach mission of the university.

Faculty Affairs


Distinguished Professors
The University of Colorado extends the title of “distinguished professor” to recognize the outstanding contributions of CU faculty members to their academic disciplines. Candidates nominated for a distinguished professorship must demonstrate accomplishments in accordance with university-wide criteria. As of fall 2023, 144 University of Colorado professors hold the title of distinguished professor.

President's Teaching Scholars
The President's Teaching Scholars Program, established in 1989 as a presidential initiative, honors faculty who have excelled in effective and exemplary teaching, creative work, scholarship and research. 

Faculty Council
The Faculty Council is the executive body of the Faculty Senate, and as such, initiates advice and recommendations to the president or other appropriate administrative officials for submission to the Board of Regents on matters within jurisdiction of the Council which are related to educational policy, internal operations, and external operation of the university.

Faculty Senate Grievance Committee
The mission of the Faculty Senate Grievance Committee is to provide faculty senate members a hearing for grievances involving perceived violations of rights and privileges. That is, the committee is the due-process vehicle for faculty senate members. Faculty Senate members include all members of the general faculty of the University of Colorado with the following titles whose appointments are fifty-percent or more. Any faculty who is a member has the right to file a grievance.