Temporary Employees

The University of Colorado hires temporary university staff and classified employees. You can verify with your department in which of these employee groups your position belongs.

As a temporary employee, you must pay all applicable federal, state and local taxes. If you are paid hourly, you are eligible for overtime compensation. Confirm employment status and overtime eligibility with your department's payroll liaison.

Temporary employees must document all hours worked.

CU has multiple options for documenting hours worked and exception time. Work with your department to verify its recording method and follow that procedure.

You and your supervisor must sign the leave record verifying the accuracy of leave usage and balances.

Use this page to find monthly and biweekly paydays.

Note: Each campus and department has its own specific deadlines for updating individual payroll records, and for collecting timesheets and leave records from employees. Please refer to your department's payroll liaison (aka, HCM Community member) for more information.

2018 Monthly Paydays
Month Pay Date
January Wednesday, Jan. 31
February Wednesday, Feb. 28
March Friday, March 30
April Monday, April 30
May Thursday, May 31
June Friday, June 29
July Tuesday, July 31
August Friday, Aug. 31
September Friday, Sept. 28
October Wednesday, Oct. 31
November Friday, Nov. 30
December TBD

2018 Biweekly Paydays
Month Pay Date
January Friday, Jan. 12
January Friday, Jan. 26
February Friday, Feb. 9
February Friday, Feb. 23
March Friday, March 9
March Friday, March 23
April Friday, April 6
April Friday, April 20
May Friday, May 4
May Friday, May 18
June Friday, June 1
June Friday, June 15
June Friday, Jun 29
July Friday, July 13
July Friday, July 27
August to December biweekly paydates to be announced.

 

2017

2017 Monthly Paydays
Month Pay Date
January Tuesday, Jan. 31
February Tuesday, Feb. 28
March Friday, March 31
April Friday, April 28
May Wednesday, May 31
June Monday, July 3
July Monday, July 31
August Thursday, Aug. 31
September Friday, Sept. 29
October Tuesday, Oct. 31
November Thursday, Nov. 30
December Friday, Dec. 29

2017 Biweekly Paydays
Month Pay Date
January Friday, Jan. 13
January Friday, Jan. 27
February Friday, Feb. 10
February Friday, Feb. 24
March Friday, March 10
March Friday, March 24
April Friday, April 7
April Friday, April 21
May Friday, May 5
May Friday, May 19
June Friday, June 2
June Friday, June 16
June Friday, June 30
July Friday, July 14
July Friday, July 28
August Friday, Aug. 11
August Friday, Aug. 25
September Friday, Sept. 8
September Friday, Sept. 22
October Friday, Oct. 6
October Friday, Oct. 20
November Friday, Nov. 3
November Friday, Nov. 17
December Friday, Dec. 1
December Friday, Dec. 15
December Friday, Dec. 29

 

 

Tax status and completion of tax forms

International employees must comply with the U.S. Tax Code. To ensure compliance, you must make an appointment with the appropriate campus international tax specialist to complete the proper tax forms and establish correct tax status.  Please make your appointment as close to your employment start date as possible.  At times, it may be two to four weeks before an international tax specialist can meet with you due to busy academic and tax year schedules.  There is generally no negative ramification to a delay in meeting with our office.

If you’ve reached your 31st day of employment with the university and have applied for but not yet been issued a Social Security number, please have your department payroll representative contact the International Tax Office.

See these references for general information on immigration, taxation and the Social Security policy:

Immigration Info

Schedule Tax Appointments

Resources