ELP Alumni

Find all information pertaining to ELP alumni.

View the ELP alumni list.

Excellence in Leadership Luncheon and Lecture

ELP alumni are invited to the Excellence in Leadership Luncheon and Lecture at the Brown Palace Hotel.

The recipient of the Excellence in Leadership Award will be honored.

The Excellence in Leadership Program is honored to hear from a keynote speaker at the Excellence in Leadership Luncheon and Lecture in November at the Brown Palace. Click on each tab below for more information about the speaker and lecture topic for that year.

  • Laura Stack, President and CEO, The Productivity Pro, Inc. 
    • Lecture: "Doing the Right Things Right: How the Effective Leader Spends Time
  • Paul Gibbons, Author, Speaker, Consultant
    • Lecture: "Complicated or Complex: Two Practical Tools"
  • Roxane White, President and CEO of the Nurse-Family Partnership National Service
    • Lecture: "Tough Calls: Making Evidence-Based Decisions"
  • Richard D. Krugman, MD, vice chancellor for Health Affairs for the University of Colorado Denver and dean of the University of Colorado School of Medicine
    • Lecture: "Staying Cool in Jobs Where People Only Turn Up the Heat"
  • Dr. Joseph F. Coughlin, Ph.D., director of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology AgeLab
    • Lecture: "Three Retirement Questions to Plan a New Life Today"
  • Dr. Cynthia Stevenson, superintendent of Jefferson County Public Schools
    • Lecture: "Chaos, Ambiguity, Uncertainty... How Can You Not Love Leadership!"
  • Colonel Kathleen Harrington, permanent professor and head of the English and Fine Arts Department, United States Air Force Academy (USAFA)
    • Lecture: "Leadership in the Military"
  • Dr. Thomas J. Noel, professor of history and director of Public History, Preservation and Colorado Studies at the University of Colorado Denver
    • Lecture: "How Colorado's Movers and Shakers have Faced Leadership Challenges"
  • Professor James S. Voss, University of Colorado Boulder Scholar in Residence and Roubos Chair
    • Lecture: "Leadership in Challenging Environments"

Each year, the Excellence in Leadership Award honors a graduate of the Excellence in Leadership Program (ELP) (formerly called the Emerging Leaders Program) who has shown exemplary leadership at the university.

Nominees should demonstrate, in one or more areas, the following attributes:

  • Leadership of organizations, departments or teams
  • Leadership of projects, programs and/or research
  • Fiscal management and/or fundraising
  • Student instruction

Past Years

Click on each tab below to learn more about the award recipient for that year.

  • Brenda J. Allen, Vice Chancellor of Diversity and Inclusion, University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus 
  • Penina Axelrad, Professor at Ann and H.J. Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder 
  • Sandy Hicks, Associate Vice President, Chief Procurement Officer, University of Colorado, System Administration
  • Thomas Christensen, Professor of Physics, Co-Director UCCS Teach, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
  • Diane Sieber, associate dean for education, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, President's Teaching Scholar, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Garrison Roots, MFA, professor and chair, Department of Art and Art History, University of Colorado Boulder
    • View the presentation (PDF) of site-specific art created by Professor Roots.
    • Professor Roots passed away in December 2011, shortly after receiving the award.
  • Laura M. Argys, Ph.D., professor of economics and associate dean for Research and Creative Activities in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Barbara A. Gaddis, Ph.D., director of the Office of First-Year Experience at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, received the first Excellence in Leadership Award, professor of chemistry University of Colorado Colorado Springs, director of Excel Centers, director of Student Retention

To stay connected with current and past participants, join the private ELP group on LinkedIn: ELP fellows and alumni - University of Colorado