Contact OIS

Office of Information Security

Dan Jones, Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)
Phone: 303-735-6637
Dan.Jones@cu.edu

Chirag Joshi, Assistant Information Security Officer and HIPAA Security Officer
Phone: 303-860-5734
chirag.joshi@cu.edu

Leonid Balaban, IT Security Analyst
Phone: 303-860-5678
Leonid.Balaban@cu.edu

Group email address: Security@cu.edu

Information Security Officers/IT Security Principals

Campus Information Security Officers/IT security Principals (ITSPs) serve in a variety of technical and non-technical roles for a specific University campus. The ITSPs shall:

  1. Provide day-to-day Program management for their campus, advise Organizational Units on IT security issues, and assist the CISO with Program reviews and reporting.
  2. Assist Organizational Units with evaluating risks to University information and the CISO with risk management reporting.
  3. Assist with the preparation, approval, and maintenance of campus-specific IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines as appropriate.
  4. Provide guidance on implementation of unit-specific IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines as appropriate.
  5. Establish and manage an IT security awareness and education program for campus IT resource users and provide guidance to Organizational Units on supplementing program events with unit-specific training.
  6. When IT security incidents affect a single campus, lead investigations, coordinate with and issue timely reports to the Chancellor or designee, affected campus units, CISO, Legal, and others as appropriate.

ITSPs

Name Campus Phone Number Email Address  
Dan Jones CU-Boulder 303-735-6637 Dan.Jones@colorado.edu  
Sean Clark CU-Denver 303-724-0486 Sean.Clark@ucdenver.edu  
Greg Williams UCCS 719-255-3211 gwillia5@uccs.edu  
Brad Judy System Administration 303-860-4293 Brad.Judy@cu.edu  

Security Advisory Committee

The Security Advisory Committee (SAC) provides oversight of and support for the IT Security Program and is composed of members representing a cross section of the University community. SAC members are appointed by the President or designee.

  1. Advise, inform, and coordinate with the CISO as appropriate to promote and support the Program and to ensure that Program requirements reflect and support the functional requirements, external requirements, and the mission of the University.
  2. Advise the President and the CISO as appropriate to ensure that University-wide IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines reflect and support the functional requirements, external requirements, and the mission of the University.
  3. In collaboration with the CISO advise the University President and Chancellors on risk management decisions and Program direction to ensure alignment with University objectives.

Members

Title  Name Email Address  
Vice President, Employee and Information Services Jill Pollock Jill.Pollock@cu.edu  
Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer, CU - Boulder Kelly Fox  Kelly.Fox@Colorado.EDU  
Alternate representative to Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer - Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Budget, Finance and Enrollment Services, CU - Boulder Steve McNally steve.mcnally@colorado.edu  

Associate Vice Chancellor for Budget and Finance, Denver/AMC

Lisa Douglas LISA.DOUGLAS@UCDENVER.EDU  
Senior Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration & Finance, UCCS Susan Szpyrka sszpyrka@uccs.edu  
Associate Vice President, Business Operations, System Administration Geoff Barsch geoff.barsch@cu.edu  
Chief Technology Officer, UCCS Jerry Wilson Jwilson@uccs.edu  
Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology, CU-Boulder Larry Levine Larry.Levine@colorado.edu  

Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer, UIS

Bob Weir Bob.weir@cu.edu  
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology Services, Denver/AMC Russell Poole Russell.Poole@ucdenver.edu  
Legal Counsel Erica Weston erica.weston@cu.edu  
Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer/CU-Boulder IT Security Principal Dan Jones Dan.Jones@colorado.edu  
CU-Denver and Anschutz Medical Campus (AMC) IT Security Principal Sean Clark   Sean.Clark@ucdenver.edu  
UCCS IT Security Principal  Greg Williams  gwillia5@uccs.edu  
System IT Security Principal  Brad Judy  Brad.Judy@cu.edu  
Director Internal Audit (Ex-offico member)  Kevin Sisemore Kevin.Sisemore@cu.edu  
Alternate representative to Director of Internal Audit - Senior IT Audit Manager Jim Dillon  jim.dillon@cu.edu  
       

Chief Information Officer/Chief Technology Officer

 

1. The CIO/CTO is an individual designated by the Chancellor on each campus with oversight authority for all IT operations on that campus. These individuals have the authority to enforce the requirements of University and campus policies for information security.

2. Authorize new IT operations, shut down IT operations that are out of compliance with policy, or transfer management of those operations to a department or service provider with the requisite capabilities.

Contact information:

Name Campus Email Address  
Larry Levine CU-Boulder Larry.Levine@colorado.edu  
Russell Poole CU-Denver and AMC Russell.Poole@ucdenver.edu  
Jerry Wilson UCCS Jwilson@uccs.edu  
Robert Weir System Administration Bob.Weir@cu.edu