Contact the Office of Information Security

Dan Jones
Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer
303-735-6637
Dan.Jones@cu.edu

Brad Judy
Information Security Officer
303-860-4293
Brad.Judy@cu.edu

Sarah Braun
Assistant Information Security Officer
303-860-5616
Sarah.Braun@cu.edu

Leonid Balaban
IT Security Analyst
303-860-5678
Leonid.Balaban@cu.edu

Josh Gillam
Information Security Solutions Analyst
303-813-7988
Josh.Gillam@cu.edu

1800 Grant Street, Suite 200
Denver, CO 80203
 Email: security@cu.edu
Website: www.cu.edu/ois

Dan Jones
Information Security Officer
303-735-6637
Dan.Jones@colorado.edu

Thomas Conley
Information Security Officer
719-255-3211
TConley@uccs.edu

 

Information Security Officers

Campus Information Security Officers (ISOs) serve in a variety of technical and non-technical roles for a specific University campus. The ISOs shall:

  1. Provide day-to-day Program management for their campus, advise organizational units on IT security issues, and assist the CISO with Program reviews and reporting.
  2. Assist Organizational Units with evaluating risks to University information and the CISO with risk management reporting.
  3. Assist with the preparation, approval, and maintenance of campus-specific IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines as appropriate.
  4. Provide guidance on implementation of unit-specific IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines as appropriate.
  5. Establish and manage an IT security awareness and education program for campus IT resource users and provide guidance to Organizational Units on supplementing program events with unit-specific training.
  6. When IT security incidents affect a single campus, lead investigations, coordinate with and issue timely reports to the Chancellor or designee, affected campus units, CISO, Legal, and others as appropriate.

Security Advisory Committee

The Security Advisory Committee (SAC) provides oversight of and support for the IT Security Program and is composed of members representing a cross section of the University community. SAC members are appointed by the President or designee.

  1. Advise, inform, and coordinate with the CISO as appropriate to promote and support the Program and to ensure that Program requirements reflect and support the functional requirements, external requirements, and the mission of the University.
  2. Advise the President and the CISO as appropriate to ensure that University-wide IT security policies, procedures, and guidelines reflect and support the functional requirements, external requirements, and the mission of the University.
  3. In collaboration with the CISO advise the University President and Chancellors on risk management decisions and Program direction to ensure alignment with University objectives.

Members

Title  Name Email Address  
Vice President for Employee and Information Services Kathy Nesbitt Kathy.Nesbitt@cu.edu  
Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer, CU - Boulder Kelly Fox Kelly.Fox@colorado.edu  
Alternate representative to Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer - Vice Chancellor for Infrastructure and Safety, CU - Boulder David Kang David.Kang@colorado.edu  
Senior Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, Denver|Anschutz Medical Campus Terri Carrothers Terri.Carrothers@ucdenver.edu  
Associate Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, Denver Jennifer Sobanet Jennifer.Sobanet@ucdenver.edu  
Senior Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, UCCS Susan Szpyrka sszpyrka@uccs.edu  
Senior Associate Vice President and Chief Business Officer Geoff Barsch Geoff.Barsch@cu.edu  
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, UCCS Harper Johnson hjohnson@uccs.edu  
Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, CU-Boulder Larry Levine Larry.Levine@colorado.edu  
Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer, UIS Scott Munson Scott.Munson@cu.edu  
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology Services, Denver|Anschutz Medical Campus Russell Poole Russell.Poole@ucdenver.edu  
Associate Vice President and Chief Risk Officer for Risk Management Terry Lee Terry.Lee@cu.edu  
Legal Counsel Erica Weston Erica.Weston@cu.edu  
Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer/CU-Boulder Information Security Officer Dan Jones Dan.Jones@colorado.edu  
CU-Denver|Anschutz Medical Campus (AMC) Information Security Officer Sean Clark Sean.Clark@ucdenver.edu  
UCCS Information Security Officer Thomas Conley tconley@uccs.edu  
System Information Security Officer Brad Judy Brad.Judy@cu.edu  
Director Internal Audit (Ex officio member) Kevin Sisemore Kevin.Sisemore@cu.edu  
Alternate representative to Director of Internal Audit - Senior IT Audit Manager Jim Dillon Jim.Dillon@cu.edu  

Chief Information Officer/Chief Technology Officer

1. The CIO/CTO is an individual designated by the Chancellor on each campus with oversight authority for all IT operations on that campus. These individuals have the authority to enforce the requirements of University and campus policies for information security.

2. Authorize new IT operations, shut down IT operations that are out of compliance with policy, or transfer management of those operations to a department or service provider with the requisite capabilities.

Name Campus Email Address  
Larry Levine CU-Boulder Larry.Levine@colorado.edu  
Russell Poole CU-Denver|Anschutz Medical Campus Russell.Poole@ucdenver.edu  
Harper Johnson UCCS HJohnson@uccs.edu  
Scott Munson System Administration Scott.Munson@cu.edu