Faculty Affairs

The University of Colorado System has more than 9,000 faculty members across four campuses, each making significant contributions to the teaching, research and outreach mission of the university. 

Distinguished Professors
The title "Distinguished Professor" is the highest honor that the University of Colorado bestows on its faculty members.  This title is awarded to recognize the outstanding contributions of University of Colorado faculty members to their 

President's Teaching Scholars
The President's Teaching Scholars Program, established in 1989 as a presidential initiative, honors faculty who have excelled in effective and exemplary teaching, creative work, scholarship and research. 

Faculty Handbook
The University of Colorado Faculty Handbook has been prepared for the convenience and information of the faculty members of the University of Colorado four-campus system.  This handbook brings together those university laws, policies, procedures and other information items that apply, or might be of interest, to faculty members.

Faculty Council
The Faculty Council is the executive body of the Faculty Senate, and as such, initiates advice and recommendations to the president or other appropriate administrative officials for submission to the Board of Regents on matters within jurisdiction of the Council which are related to educational policy, internal operations, and external operation of the university.  

Privilege & Tenure Committee
The P&T Committee, through its panel structure, conducts investigations and mediations of, and hearings on, grievances concerning faculty rights, privileges, and tenure, including reappointments with or without tenure, promotions, post-tenure review and suspensions, that are submitted by members of the Faculty Senate.  

CU Retired Faculty Association
CURFA is an organization of retired faculty members of the four University of Colorado campuses.