CU Facts and Figures

  • In fall 2013, the total student headcount enrollment among CU’s four campuses was 58,166. CU-Boulder enrolled 29,839; UCCS enrolled 10,598; CU Denver enrolled 14,023 and Anschutz Medical Campus enrolled 3,706.
  • CU awarded 14,306 degrees in the 2012-13 fiscal year (9,248 bachelor's; 3,781 master's; 25 specialist; 1,252 doctoral).
  • In fall 2013, CU had more than 3,000 tenured/tenure track faculty and 1,500 full-time non-tenure track instructors.
  • In fiscal year 2013-14, CU garnered $861 million in sponsored research awards to conduct research in economic sectors critical to the state and nation, including energy, bioscience, aerospace and health care. 
  • CU's operating budget for the 2014-15 fiscal year totals $3.28 billion. Contracts and grants and tuition and fees account for nearly half of the university's revenues. The majority of CU's budget is spent on instruction, research and health services. This reflects the institution's role as a university that emphasizes classroom instruction, research training and community outreach.
  • CU is both an anchor and a catalyst to the Colorado economy. In 2011-12, CU contributed more than $5.4 billion to the Colorado economy and employed 27,500 people directly and another 16,000 people indirectly through its demand for goods and services, as well as construction.
  • In the past year, CU Technology Transfer registered 238 invention disclosures, 115 new patent filings and 242 follow-on filings, and $16.5 million in license revenue. Eight new companies were formed based on CU technology. 
  • Universitywide, awards to students for academic excellence include seven Marshall Scholarships, 79 Fulbright Fellowships, 19 Rhodes Scholars, nine Truman Scholarships, 27 Goldwater Scholarships and seven Udall Scholarships.

Noteworthy honors and awards earned by CU faculty include:

Five Nobel Laureates—David Wineland, physics, 2012; John Hall, physics, 2005;
Eric Cornell and Carl Wieman, physics, 2001; Thomas Cech, chemistry, 1989
Nine MacArthur fellowships; and the Carnegie Foundation’s Professor of the Year awarded to Carl Wieman in 2004.

File Attachments